Skip to content
News & updates
FTC and Do Not CallInformational agency releaseAn informational release, not a legal requirement.

FTC Announces Increased 2027 Telemarketer Fees for National Do Not Call Registry Access

By revoq Editorial, reviewed by a revoq administratorPublished

The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) issued a press release announcing the telemarketer access fees for the National Do Not Call (DNC) Registry for Fiscal Year 2027. These fees, which telemarketers must pay annually to access the DNC Registry, are increasing for the upcoming fiscal year. The announcement details the new costs for accessing area codes and the maximum annual charge.

Source organization
Federal Trade Commission
Docket or document number
Not stated
Event date
August 26, 2026
Published by revoq
August 26, 2026
Jurisdiction
federal
Last reviewed
August 26, 2026

What happened

On August 26, 2026, the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) published a press release titled "FTC Announces 2027 Telemarketer Fees to Access the National Do Not Call Registry." This release details the updated fees telemarketers must pay to access phone numbers on the National Do Not Call (DNC) Registry for Fiscal Year 2027, which commences on October 1, 2026. Telemarketers making calls to consumers in the United States are required to download numbers from the DNC Registry to avoid contacting registered consumers. While the first five area codes are free to download, and certain exempt organizations like charities and political callers receive the full list for free, other telemarketers must subscribe annually for access. The cost for accessing a single area code in FY 2027 will be $85, an increase of $3 from FY 2026. The maximum charge for any single entity to access all nationwide area codes will rise to $23,425, up from $22,626 in FY 2026. The fee for accessing an additional area code for a half year will increase to $43 in FY 2027, from $41 in FY 2026. The Commission authorized the publication of these new fees by a 2-0 vote.

Why it matters

This announcement from the FTC directly impacts businesses engaged in telemarketing activities by detailing the increased costs associated with DNC Registry compliance. Accurate budgeting and financial planning for DNC access are critical for businesses that conduct outbound calling campaigns. The requirement to download and scrub against the DNC Registry remains a fundamental aspect of telemarketing compliance, underscoring the ongoing need for robust consent and revocation management processes. Understanding these fee adjustments ensures businesses can maintain legal access to the DNC data.

What businesses should consider

  • Consider reviewing your organization's DNC Registry access budget to account for the increased FY 2027 fees.
  • Consider confirming that your telemarketing operations understand the requirement to download DNC numbers annually.
  • Consider assessing whether current DNC scrubbing processes effectively utilize the updated registry data.
  • Consider verifying that any exemptions claimed for DNC access remain applicable under FTC guidelines.

Important dates

The source document does not state a compliance or effective date for this action.

Source documents

revoq regulatory update — a revoq summary of cited public documents.

Related updates

FTC and Do Not CallFinal rule

FTC Amends Telemarketing Sales Rule to Update National Do Not Call Registry Access Fees

The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) issued a final rule amending the Telemarketing Sales Rule (TSR). This amendment updates the fees entities must pay to access the National Do Not Call Registry, as mandated by the Do-Not-Call Registry Fee Extension Act of 2007. The revised fees take effect on October 1, 2026.

Source
Federal Trade Commission
Document date
August 26, 2026
Published
August 26, 2026

See all ftc and do not call updates